Why I Hate School but Love Education

Based on the popular video: “Why I hate religion but love Jesus”, English rapper-poet Suli Breaks enters the education debate with his own video in which he talks about what mainstream schooling has become and why he thinks amidst standardized exams and rote memorization of texts it no longer provides and ‘education’. He references famous people, such as Steve Jobs and Oprah Winfrey who never graduated from a higher institution.
There is bitterness in his words but accuracy in his plea to young people. He says “understand your motives and reassess your aims”.
Some of Suli’s claims ring true. His mention of memorizing facts to be regurgitated for a test and then forgotten reminded me of the video “Love Letter to Albuquerque Public Schools”
HIs opposition to mainstream schooling rang similar to the pleas of many education scholars in the video “Forbidden Education”
Yet, what are education policy makers to do? Do they even know or understand the implication of their policies?
I think ‘education’ has to do with what you are passionate about. Going to school just to make your parents proud, or to fill the requirements of your life’s checklist will have a different result than going to school because you are passionate about something. And when passion is what drives you, you will get that education whether you attend school or not. That’s what is different about the famous people Suli mentions. They were passionate about something.
What are your thoughts?

About estrellascience

Lecturer of Science Education, Bilingual Education and Multicultural Education. Bilingual Science Educator at a suburban High School in Long Island, New York. Doctoral student in Curriculum and Teaching/ Urban and Multicultural Education at TC, Columbia University. I was born in Santiago, Chile and lived most of my adolescence in Buenos Aires, Argentina. I am married and the mother to two boys: Gabriel & Nico.
Video | This entry was posted in Bilingual Education, Multicultural Education, Science Education, Teacher Education and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Why I Hate School but Love Education

  1. Know More Than I Should says:

    Imported from 19th century Prussia, and having roots extending back to the Hindu caste system, American public education is intended to teach unquestioning obedience to rules and authority. With few exceptions, any academic instruction is capped at the 8th grade level. The desired results of this arrangement is a reliance on “experts” in later life and an inability to asked troublesome questions.

  2. Alexandria Grosso BILED 701 says:

    This video reminded me of a conversation I had with a coworker years ago when I worked in Pathmark. She was older, never went to college and had no regrets about it. As an aspiring teacher I remember trying to convince her how essential an education is. I remember telling her that if she had an education, she would be able to one day leave Pathmark and do something more with her life. She then told me that a college degree wouldn’t help her, that college is only necessary for people who want to be teachers, doctors or lawyers. Almost every other profession, it does not help. I remember being frustrated trying to persuade her, but not being able to do so. While I agree to some point that an education isn’t the end to all problems and the answer to everything, it does definitely help. The trouble is being able to pursue what you are passionate about and using what you have learned to make reaching that goal easier. “Education is about inspiring one’s mind, not just filling one’s head.” I think was a great quote because the definition of education has been intertwined with testing and “fact-regurgitating.” A true education is when you learn how to better yourself, think more deeply and are inspired to reach your goals. Education should make people question things and think deeper and go further. As an educator, my goal is to make my students realize their goals and give them the foundation to reach it.

    • Know More Than I Should says:

      Beyond career choices, the advantage of a diverse education is an enhanced ability to spot deja poo – otherwise known as “I’ve heard that crap before!”

      • I must say, sadly, I agree with (KMTIS). Schools as institutions were indeed created to control society, to build populations capable of following orders. As the film “Educacion Prohibida” nicely puts it, public schools have limited capacity to serve individual needs. In that regard, schools emulate prisons structurally and functionally. Pink Floyd got it right with “Another Brick in the Wall” http://youtu.be/YR5ApYxkU-U
        There is so much that can be done with students who are eager to learn about the things that interest them and none of it could be farther from bubble-filling training.
        (I think I may adopt the term “Deja Poo”, had never heard it before)

  3. Know More Than I Should says:

    Deja poo is a military expression. It’s in the same vein as SSDD and REMF. (Don’t ask ’bout those two.)

    For further insight into the American educational scheme, go to http://johntaylorgatto.com/. While Gatto is by no means the first to trace the origins of public education, the former New York (city and state) teacher of the year gets credit for consolidating the information and for making it widely available. Gatto should be required reading for teacher wannabes. Some of the information is available free online. See http://johntaylorgatto.com/chapters/index.htm for more.

    The new wrinkle in pubic education – charter schools – is little more than a reincarnation of vouchers. The principal difference is the the money goes straight to the corporations instead of the parents. The canned lesson plans associated with charter schools are particularly insidious because the allow boardroom schemers to groom students to become mindless corporate minions. Charter schools also represent the Walmartization of American education. If the stratagem succeeds, teachers will have the same pay, benefits, and retirement as Walmart wage slaves. In turn, this latter day breed of educators will socialize students to have similar diminished expectations of work and life.

  4. Louise Connolly BILED 701 says:

    There is definitely some truth in what he says about the importance of being passionate about something. Studying somethng you are passionate about means learning won’t be a chore. Unfortunately I don’t imagine many kids going to public school these days have the chance to make any connection between school and the things they love. In the video Suli rattles off some statistics about education getting you a job, making your life less stressful, making your parents proud etc. Are these things really so terrible? In this world an undergraduate degree is essential whether we like it or not, unless of course we are planning on being the next Steve Jobs or Oprah Winfrey….
    Nonetheless as the video continues, the message about the importance of being passionate about something is great. I really believe this. If you are lucky enough to find your passion and can pursue it then work and education and learning won’t seem like such a chore. I think of my mother who decided to go to university at the age of 49. Her undergraduate led to a masters and a Phd all because of her passion for history. She was thrilled to get these opportunities regardless of her age or stage of life. Rather then taking from this video a lot of negativity about the mission of public schools and policy makers I think kids should be helped to realise that they have the opportunity through learning to figure out what they love and that they should have the courage to follow their dreams.

  5. Jennifer Malash says:

    As a kindergarten teacher, who has worked in “tough” public schools for many years, I can say that, whether you have a great or a bad teacher, there is also a big role that your home life takes. The video is an awesome, inspiring message to young people who should never feel disheartened and regardless of their race, gender or background, challenge yourself to be the very best you can be. But this mountain is harder to climb when from a very early age, the child doesn’t have support from both at home and school. If education is about being passionate about what you are learning, then this “passion” has to be encouraged and developed and sometimes a child is raised without a chance. To some people, life will not hand you anything. You have to do it and believe in yourself. You are not guaranteed great, inspiring teachers for your entire student life, or a supportive school with adequate resources, or even a stable family unit. So you have to motivate yourself to be better than you’re being offered. And this video is a demonstration of inspiration and passion for what you want and I commend Suli Breaks for his goals. It’s very easy to just watch a video and talk about what’s wrong with the educational system (And there is a lot wrong) but sometimes you need to see a little inspiration to create that spark that can hopefully ignite a movement.

  6. Amanda Vender says:

    Just because a few famous people in the world have become billionaires without an education doesn’t mean the majority of people can. And statistics show that, on average, the more education you have the higher your income and the healthier you are. Whether or not you really need that education in order to do your job is beside the point. You need the degree on paper to get the job.

    How are students being given the opportunity to be passionate about something? I didn’t become passionate about anything until I finally escaped from being a student (to return now temporarily) to experience and explore what life is really like for people, and to come to my own conclusions. I think that the Common Core, with its emphasis on higher-order and critical thinking may actually facilitate developing passions in students. But I wonder if teachers are being prepared to foster these skills in students.

  7. Sofia Noboa says:

    I have mixed feelings about this video. There is no doubt that this guy is extremely talented (in his poetry/rap) and that he is a bright and creative individual. He also makes a case, as others have in the past, that institutionalized education is not as innocent as some would claim it to be. However, on the same token (and naturally I have a biased view as I am in the teaching profession), I don’t think the argument is as clear cut as he makes it out to be. First of all, yes he mentioned a lot of financially and socially successful individuals that “made it big” without a formal education. So what? What about the hundreds of thousands of people that “made it” WITH a formal education? Of course he does not mention that as that would give his case less weight. The truth is that there is not one factor that is the sole guarantee of success. Getting a higher education does not guarantee success. However not getting an education does decrease the likelihood that one will be successful (at least financially/professionally). Additionally, yes formal education has many pitfalls and yes there is so much that needs to be changed to improve our public education however I firmly believe that a formal education is better than no education at all! Being ignorant has so many negative repercussions that one could write a book on the serious implications of ignorance (actually I’m sure someone already has)! Nevertheless, I think it is in our hands, especially teachers, to ensure that our students receive the best quality education possible. And naturally we all have different options on what that looks like but most would agree that testing our students to death is not authentic learning, having our students memorize information just to regurgitate it for a test and soon after forget it is not authentic learning, that having all students conform to one set of standards regardless of their learning style, multiple intelligence, talents, beliefs, culture, etc. is not authentic learning and the belief that students are ignorant empty vessels just waiting to be filled by their all-knowing-always-right teacher is not authentic learning. What is so unfortunate is that (according to the movie ‘Forbidden Education’) the longer children are in school, the less creative and inquisitive they are and that school socializes children so that they know how to obey orders and not question authority. But all that can be changed. And that’s one reason why I love education so much. Because as teachers, schooling is our vehicle. This is how we can reach students and make an impact. We may have to work within the system and hopefully little by little rely less on standardized tests, but the beauty is, that as teachers, we are the guardians of our classrooms and so much still rests in our power. We have the power to teach our children to think outside the box, to question what we think is wrong (regardless or not if society or authority approve it), to learn social emotional skills and conflict resolution, to realize their potential as capable human beings. As teachers, we have SO much power to make a difference in our society. And that’s exactly what I’m planning to do.

  8. I do agree that established institutions of formal education do not hold a monopoly on knowledge, are not the only pathway to a fulfilling successful life, and are not right for everyone. I also agree that our education system is flawed. A successful education system is that students want to go to school, they are excited about learning, and they are prepared to creatively respond to the kinds of open-ended problems they will actually face in the real world. However, I question some of Suli Breaks’ claims. Some of the people he holds up as success stories, such as the athletes Beckham and Ali, depended largely on natural ability that may be present in one out of a billion people. In addition, they received professional training in a structured setting that although was not college was its professional equivalent. Bill Gates and Mark Zuckerburg received years of the best formal education available in the company of the world’s best and brightest as preparation before deciding not to wait for graduation to proceed with their plans. Again these people may be one in five hundred million. People can succeed without formal education; however, a person’s knowledge and specialized skill acquisition is acquired in a greatly reduced time frame with some sort of professional instruction. Suli seems to feel that his talent and valuable time shouldn’t be wasted in school. I don’t believe this is the kind of message we should send to our children.

  9. Danae Olton-Weber says:

    I found that Suli had some important points, especially those related to being passionate and working hard to achieve your goals. However, I did find some of what he had to say concerning. As he spoke, I began to think about kids who are not invested in their education, particularly those in high school. I would be concerned that those who heard Suli’s argument would take away the idea that it is fine if you drop out of high school, that education does not help you achieve like people say. The people he mentioned who did not get higher education degrees but who were incredibly successful do not represent the norm, so I find his argument to be shaky in that respect. Most jobs require a high school, if not college or higher degree.
    While I don’t agree with the demands of testing on students these days, I do believe that school is important. Suli seemed to state that people go on to higher education in order to make more money. I got my Master’s degree in order to be a public school teacher. While I knew I would not make money, I also knew that I would feel fulfilled by becoming a teacher and that in order to get a job in this difficult economy, it would be easier for me to find employment if I had a Master’s degree. And yes, I had to take exams in order to be certified as a teacher. For better or worse, that is part of the process, but I believe that the education I gained by going to school helped prepare me for those exams and therefore helped me do what I am passionate about – teach.

    • Carina Sandrini-Cooke says:

      I found Suli’s video to be inspirational and yet conflicting. When Suli says, “Education is about inspiring one’s mind, not just filling their head.” I completely agree with this statement. Many times throughout my education (and i do mean many), I have had moments where I could already feel the information leaving my brain as soon as I had taken a test on it, or slammed my head against a desk because of the monotony of an assignment. I do believe that the educational system has become bogged down with requirements and assessments that do little to place true value on a person’s intelligence or potential. However, I also see the necessity in attending school and the value that our society places on it. There will of course be the exceptions to the rule, like Oprah Winfrey and Steve Jobs, but the truth of the matter is that education is an essential element in a person’s marketability in today’s current economic situation. The issue, therefore, is finding a way of combining the foundation of education with the motivation that doing something you are passionate about facilitates. This is a balance I try to discover every day as a teacher.

  10. yamile says:

    Wow, that was a strong video! I kept nodding my head, as Suli spoke of education. I found myself agreeing with him on many points, one being exams. I have studied endless hours for a test, and memorize terms and materials which I forget once I step out of the classroom. I started my job this year after being in school for three years learning about special education. Yet the moment I stepped into the classroom, I didn’t know what to do. How can one possibly recall all the information learned in each and every single class and apply in your job? This made me realized that if one person is interested and passionate about something, HANDS ON, is the most effective tool in learning about it. Students should spend more time at places where they would be working in the future, and getting a feel of what it is. Observations or field work are not enough hours and many times the setting where you end up working is completely different from your field work experiences. Why take so many credits of classes that are irrelevant to your major. Arts, physical education, sociology, anthropology…? For what? If at the end your job will not be on any of these fields. My sister just started college this semester, and we’ve had this conversation numerous times. At times I find myself not knowing how to justify this. This is money that’s being spent learning about something we will learn for 4 months and forget about it the minute the semester finishes. Even worse we will never have to recall any of this information, if it does comes up in a conversation, one has already forgotten about it.
    This video also reminded me about the forbidden education. Students are seen as robots memorizing tests without understanding why and which are not of interest to them, and won’t be useful in their lives.

  11. Talia Kern BILED 701 says:

    Although there were many point of Suli’s that I did agree with, such as the overemphasis on standardized testing and memorization, overall, I don’t agree with his overall sentiments. I do think that passion can be developed in the classroom and school is meant to be a microchasm of life. From a young age, regardless of what subject is being taught, school teaches students how to interact with one another, develop a sense of responsibility, and develop a sense of self. Many people take it for granted that they are learning all of these things in school. Just because some unique individuals were able to make money without higher education, doesn’t meant hat higher education doesn’t serve a purpose.

    In response to what Yamile was saying about general requirements in higher education, I really do believe quite the opposite. Taking general requirements in higher education helped expose me to things that I wouldn’t have ordinarily exposed myself to an helped me expand my horizons. These requirements helped me fine tune whatever passions I did have and helped me decide what subjects didn’t really resonate with me. It is important that sort of standard be imposed on students, or else we would be living in a world full of chaos and not order.

    • Know More Than I Should says:

      Sadly, the standardized testing associated with No Child Left Behind is coming to higher eduction. The name of the current paradigm is called STEM. It stands for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. The tragedy of STEM is that it will replace the diversity associated with liberal arts education with narrowly specialized technical training. While the results may be good news for corporate human resource departments, the outcome will be disastrous for the broader society.

  12. Nestor Berrios says:

    I agree with this vide because is telling you the truth you go to school to get a education and to get prepare for the future that’s why we all go to school is important to get an education because you can know something or a job that’s why we go to school.

  13. Sandra DeSantis BILED 701.2 says:

    Like many of the conflicting comments, my feelings towards the messages in the video are split. I think that, like a few comments have stated, Suli Breaks’ mention of very famous, passionate, and financially and professionally successful people does not substantiate a decision to refuse higher education. My own personal belief: Exposure is key to many of life’s successes (however you define “success”). In being exposed to various topics and subjects, one learns what interests and disinterests him or her. Exposure is critical for exploration, as well as helpful in common sense and daily endeavors. A few of my undergraduate requirements did not excite me, but some of the lessons I learned were valuable because they were practical.

    It is also critical to remember, as other comments read, that for resume purposes, a college degree is (practically) necessary. I know that this reality is unfortunate because it devalues other forms of intelligence and success, other than higher education. But at the same time, for the current day, my attitude is, “College is necessary for most opportunity, so you may as well figure out what you like and don’t like while you’re there and learn about a variety of things at the same time.” (Part of my conscience is gnawing at me for supporting anything that advocates “going through the motions” for an ultimate end, and then having that end be somewhat of a springboard. But I am also a citizen who lives in this world.)

    Do I think education requires a reform that allows a wider selection of passions to be explored starting at a younger age? ABSOLUTELY! Yes, of course. And I believe that this is related to Breaks’ point where he launches into his lines about David Beckham’s talent. The problem lies not with education itself, but with the current system. I think the reason I’m a bit uncomfortable with this video is because there seems to be an “anti-education message” rather than an “anti-current education” one. I think that this video also sends an important message about deviating from the norm in a different sense: Creative thinkers are the successful ones, and I think THIS is the message should be more explicit and well-advertised.

  14. Stephanie Nunez BILED 779 says:

    Standardized testing has taken over the fun and knowledge producing elements of a classroom. From what I have seen in classrooms students always seem to think that everything that they are being taught is for the state exams. Students as young as 7 are being taught to memorize and not learn. Standardized testing has put a strain on teachers, administration and students.It is sad to see how students are not being taught to think for themselves. Many teachers have no room to have fun activities in the class because they are so focused on teaching for the state exams. Big corporations are controlling the school system with these exams. These exams are all about money, and in such a short period of time the school system has changed for the wrong reasons. School is not about teaching students skills that they will need in life. School now teaches kids skills for exams.

  15. Suzanne Cuomo says:

    What worries me about this video is that if a young student sees this and thinks to himself or herself that they do not need an education to succeed. The famous people that Suli mentioned, yes maybe they did not receive a higher education however, they are/were extremely motivated, passionate and intelligent people. As long as a young mind recognizes this, than I would agree with Suli that higher education isn’t the only road to success to some extent. As long as an individual is motivated and passionate about learning than I believe that will succeed in life no matter what. And as long as they are open to all types of knowledge. I believe that any education isn’t bad, because knowledge opens up your mind and your consciousness. Even if it is not something you are passionate about, knowledge is never a waste of time. Maybe how knowledge is taught and with all the standards it comes along with is why we have people like Suli talking about education in this way.

  16. jacquelinecp says:

    This video expresses some ideas that i agree and disagree with. I understand he is criticizing the standardization of the school system. I do agree that the school system functions on these standardized tests to measure how much a student learns however this is not the most accurate method. Many students can score low on exams and this does not signify they are not intelligent. Therefore i do believe the system of measuring a student’s academic comprehension needs to be reconfigured to offering different techniques for students to demonstrate their knowledge. However, although this poet used Oprah, Steve Jobs and Bill Gates among others to say they didn’t need a degree to be successful, i do believe this is not how the majority of society has reached success in our current world. Acquiring a degree in today’s job market is an asset. If you are not college educated in today’s society, you have fewer options regarding which employers will hire you. I also feel success is defined differently by each individual. If you feel education is valuable, then you would feel successful to have obtained degrees in higher education, not dependent on the amount of money earned. Schooling i believe is a necessary step to success because no matter what path you take whether earning a degree or not, you must educate yourself in whatever your interest is in order to make it work. Therefore, schooling should not be seen as a problem. i think its the way education is carried out to students that it is a problem.

  17. Milagros Cota Durán_BILED: 779 says:

    “There is more than one way to be an educated man.” Sure, while this statement is true, we must ponder the possibilities embedded within each of us. What potential and determination, as well as astuteness, wit and commens sense do we behold? And secondly, what is this definition of educated? Is it common sense, complacency, possessing wealth, or feeling useful in life? One must then ponder how the individual defines each of these words. Ah, the power of language, and the meaning we assign to it; our unique understanding and worldly view. If we speak of notable immortal figures in this world, both past and present, and yes, I say immortal because their work will thrive in our society long beyond their death, geniuses like Beethoven, Shakespheare, Einstein, or Steve Jobs, then perhaps a formal education for such great minds came in a different form and fashion than the rest of us mortals.

    In pondering the message of this clip, I surmise that however the individual defines what being educated entails, as well as the meaning of success, than each must decide what road to take. Certainly, higher education is not for all, likewise it does not mean that one is any less educated.

  18. Stephanie Mejia BILED 779 says:

    I never thought I would agree more with a video than I did with “Love Letter to Alburquerque” but this is one powerful video! I agreed with everything he has said. Unfortunately, our society is not providing an adequate education to our students. We have chosen to focus on standardized testing, useless facts, and equations rather than focus on the beauty of education: expanding our minds. I remember when I was a child I loved nothing more than going to school every morning to learn something new, something that I would find useful in the future. As time went on and we entered middle school and high school all we learned was based on an exam that we had to take at the end of the year. I could not even tell you what I learned while I was in middle or high school. I could, however, tell you everything I read that I found relevant and interesting. This also points to the importance of multicultural education and tailoring education to our students so they can find the relevance.
    Although I enjoyed the video and agreed with what the poet was saying, I am one of the fortunate people who did not go to school to make anyone proud (although it is a plus) or to chase a useless degree. I am passionate of what I want to do in the future and honestly it keeps me going every single day. Had I not been passionate, I do not know how I would survive. It is unfortunately that I had to wait to college to take classes that I found not only interesting, but that really expanded my mind and horizon. Hopefully, there is some type of educational reform (soon!) that can make education relevant again and less focused on a standardized test.

  19. Diana Nunez Biled 701.002 says:

    In the beginning of the video he asks “so you want to get a degree why?” I want to get a degree because I want to make a difference in a child’s life. I want to be able to give a child the same opportunities I was given when I was in school and much more than that. In order for me to do this I need a degree. I need to be educated on how I can provide positive opportunities for my students someday. I need to become more informed and educated to achieve my goals of becoming a good effective bilingual teacher someday. Getting an education or a degree does not necessarily get you a job as seen within the past couple of years. It also does not mean less stress. I’m getting my degree because I am passionate in someday helping children become fluent in two languages. I also want to provide my future students with the right education they need and deserve to become successful individuals in the future. I agree “Education is about aspiring ones mind not just filling ones head.”

  20. Yanira Roman says:

    This video was very interesting. At first when he was mentioning all the people who have been successful without a college degree I wasn’t sure what his point was. The argument that you can be successful without going to college is a valid one, many high school students love to try and use it in their defense. However, the statistics prove that these people are exceptions to the rule. I believe some form of higher level learning is necessary just to open your mind and broaden your horizons even if you aren’t necessarily going for a degree. The thing that captured my interest was when he mentioned that on standardized tests they have a checklist and if you think out the box then you are penalized. At first it kind of shocked me because I would never want to stifle my student’s creativity, but at the same time there is a time and a place for everything. I don’t want my student to get so creative that when trying to solve 3+3 they get 7! I hope to be the type of teacher that does stretch my student’s mind and inspires them to be better and more creative. I never want one of my kids to feel that school is the lock the keeps them trapped.

    -Yanira Roman BILED 701

  21. Nicole Meek BILED 701.2 says:

    I found this video extremely powerful. I do agree that it is crucial for one to be passionate about what they choose to pursue. However, I struggle with the perception of how education is expressed in the video. Yes, as an educator, I hate the way standardized tests and teaching to the test takes away creativity. I do not believe that you can solely measure a students’ ability based on a test score. However, I do believe that a formal education is important especially for financial success and personal success. I choose to pursue my masters because I want to be an educator and provide my students with the best education I possibly can. I am studying because I have always wanted to be a teacher and to have a positive effect on students’ lives and teaching is my passion. However, I am also a mother of a two year old little girl. I know and believe that by me pursuing and achieving my goal and passion of teaching, it’s not only going to fulfill me professionally, but most importantly it gives me the opportunity to provide Ava with a better future financially. Prior to my daughter, teaching and reaching my goal was about me. That has changed- it’s not only for me anymore but for her.

  22. Jennifer Fuentes says:

    While there are some points that I disagree with, there are many important points that are made in this video. I guess in the long run some people, benefit more from a higher education than others. Depending on the person and on the institution, higher education can lead to greater success in life. I, for example, loved school because I had professors and teachers that help me to understand the world around me through a broader perspective and that transformed the way I thought. School cultivated my love for history and for anthropology and in the end it did not make me a millionaire, but in made me feel rich in another way. However, I do agree with the fact that school is not for everyone, some people will run to class just to they can find the best place to fall asleep, for those students, they will not gain as much and for these students higher education might not be for them. For these students there should be alternatives. Another point that I agree with is the fact that it is important for students to reassess the reason why they are seeking a higher education. If it is simply because they are forced into it because their parent’s say so than maybe a higher education is not for them. It okay to explore alternatives and as teachers we can sometimes force our students into a box if we push the along a road that they do not want to travel.

  23. Ana Del Rosario says:

    This message reminds me of the rapper Kanye West. Yes he is successful but not everyone will become the next Oprah Winfrey or the next rapper. And I do agree that going to college is not for everyone. For me going to college was an eye opening experience. Going to college exposed me to another world outside of what I was used to. This is not a good messagge for young people of color. My cousin who has children in grade school once told mee I make the same money you make and I didnt go to college and you have to worry about school loans. While this is true, he works as a door man and makes the same ammount of money I do I do not regret my college experience. I am proud of learning about my history and I am glad higher education has given me the ability to recognize injustices and expect more from our children.

  24. I agree with this man. There are many other ways to be an educated person, not just in schools. I do not believe standardized testing or any testing is an accurate measure of someone’s knowledge. There are many different kinds of intelligence which are not addressed with a standardized test. Rote memorization is not the key to knowledge. Understanding concepts and being able to utilize them in your life is what is important to education. In the higher education field, I believe that you should be able to take classes that interest you. I have been in many classes where I felt that I would not take away anything from that class. There needs to be a change in education, but sadly I do not see that happening any time soon.

  25. Jackie Goldstein BILED 701.2 says:

    While watching this video, I found myself in agreement with Suli’s words. Then, I started reading the comments above of people who were not in complete agreement and raised points such as how those who were successful without getting a degree (like Steve Jobs and Oprah Winfrey) are a “low majority.” This is true. The people that he listed have net worths of billions of dollars and are famous for different talents that they possess. It also made wonder what Suli’s definition of successful is. However, all of the people that he listed are successful because they pursued something that they are passionate about. He raises a strong argument that schools today have a testing mentality, where students must achieve high scores in order to be successful and get into college. This mentality needs to change. If the majority of us can agree with Suli when he says that he forgets what he learns right after the test, then I think it is time that policy makers reevaluate what is going on in our schools right now. If a student is able to get a perfect score on an exam, and then forgets everything he/she learned just a few days after…what is that really proving and how is that going to have any benefit in his/her life (in the long term), except for maybe a good grade on their report card?

  26. Cynthia Rojas says:

    This is a powerful video. It gives you the other view of education. I do agree with Suli on the notion that in order for someone to succeed in life, they need to have passion. Without passion, you can not really achieve much. I do agree that for someone people you do not need higher education in order to be successful, like the people he mentions. However, this does not apply to everyone. Some people need to get a higher education in order to pursue their career goal (i.e., to become a counselor or teacher). Without a higher education this career goal can not be achieved. I personally believe that it would be useful in life to get a higher education. Because the chances of becoming the next Steve Jobs or Oprah Winfrey are very slim. Sadly, a higher education degree does make a difference in society and it is frown upon if one does not pursuit it.

    Passion is something that everyone can develop and have. Schools are an important place where students can find their passion. However it is hard to help students in that area because teachers are mostly focus on preparing student to take standardized test. These tests have taken the element of learning. Policymakers did not see it this way. They think that testing is helping students learn but it is the opposite. Policymakers need to reassess the standardized tests and develop other ways to enhance and help students learn and discover their passions.

  27. Well I think this video is interesting because you can see the reality of education and know how thing are today. This article gives you the other view of education. I’m agree with Soli’s because we can be the next Oprah or other famous person but sometimes is hard because not everyone can’t have the passion to do this or be succeful. Like Soli’s say “I think education has to do with what you are passionate about” and it is true. If we have education we can do something more with our lifes and we can use what we have learned to make our goal eaiser. So I think education is very important for us. We need a degree of education to get the job that we want and also make a difference in our society. Education is essential for everyone.

  28. Emanuelpena says:

    The education is very important for the all student in this country because the education give you to much better a work and you make more money for something you need mey be used for a new car or to much better for your family if you finish high school and you get a job in you make money or not working a hard but you have to finish high school for get a better job nothing is impocible if you finish your education and i’m a gree for hate the school but not the education the school is very complicated for me..

  29. mayra ayala says:

    i do agree, but i understand the way my parents think about my education in school, but sometimes school is just the place where we go to chill with friends.
    & YES I HATE SCHOOL! but i know is the best way i can make my dreams came true! i mean like i know i am more then this & that i have more talent, then what i am showing now.
    which i am not showing but enyways God Bless Us with a big talent & we just need to let the people know Who we are.

  30. Nestor Berrios says:

    yo tambien odio la escuela pero es importante tener una educasion y aprender cosas differentes anque son cosas que no quieres estudiar pero por lomenos bas asaver algo de esa clase que no te gusta y talves puedas usar lo que amprendiste en el futuro.

Leave a Comment/ Deja un Comentario

